The countdown is on for State Champs

Today marks just ONE MONTH until the 2015 State Championships get underway, with this year’s competition being contested at Illawarra & District Netball Association from Saturday 6 to Monday 8 June.

As of last week, final grading has been available to view on our website; CLICK HERE to view.

136 teams will contest in six age-groups, which will be divided into nine divisions; Open Championship, Open Division Two, 21U Championship, 17U Championship, 17U Division Two, 17U Division Three, plus Masters Divisions – Over 35, Over 40 and Over 45.

Associations will travel from all over the State to participate in this year’s competition; from Ku-ring-gai to Kurri Kurri, Wyong to Wollondilly, Bathurst to Brunswick-Byron, and everywhere in between!

Held over the June long weekend annually, the Netball NSW State Championships is three days of competition bringing together elite netballers from across the state, with State Champions in each division crowned at the end of the final day.

The inaugural Netball NSW State Championships was held in 1969 at Moore Park in Sydney with 24 affiliated Associations entered in two age divisions – Opens and Cadets. Manly-Warringah Netball Association took out both divisions in the inaugural year.

Fast forward to 1983 and the State Championships was being contested at the Anne Clark Centre from Saturday 11 to Monday 13 June.  That year there were three divisions being contested, with the following Associations named Champions: Open – Randwick; 21/U – Eastwood Ryde; 18/U – Manly-Warringah.

In 2014, the State Championships involved over 1,350 athletes from 133 teams representing 76 Associations from around the State, competing in six age divisions; 17U, 19U, Opens, Over 35, Over 40 and Over 45, across two venues – Baulkham Hills Shire Netball Association and Parramatta Auburn Netball Association.