Former captain elected to Netball Australia board

Former Australian captain Kathryn Harby-Williams has been elected to Netball Australia’s Board of Directors for a one year term following the Netball Australia Annual General Meeting in Melbourne.

The South Australian defender played 94 Tests for the Australian Netball Team, including 35 games as captain, in an international career that spanned 13 years from 1990-2003 and included two Commonwealth Games and two world championship gold medals.

“I’m really excited about the opportunity,” Harby-Williams said of her election.

“Board positions are strategic positions so I want to be able to contribute to the growth of the sport, to maintain its current position and then provide some input into how we can move forward and take the next step.”

“It’s obviously a very exciting time for netball as we head towards the 2015 Netball World Cup in Sydney so I’m looking forward to working with other people who have the sport’s best interest at heart and making sure it’s heading in the right direction.”

The Annual General Meeting also saw Noeleen Dix re-elected as Netball Australia’s President while Paolina Hunt and Jan Sutherland were both re-elected to the board for three and two year terms respectively. The Board of Directors farewelled Marina Go after her directorship finished along with Kevin Roberts and Wilma Shakespear.

“The sport owes Marina Go enormous thanks for her contribution over the past seven years as an Appointed Director,” President Noeleen Dix said.

“Marina’s skills and expertise have been critical to the sport and we will miss her insights into the world of media and broadcast.”

Netball Australia’s Board of Directors consists of a President, five elected Directors and two Appointed Directors. The process of selecting two appointed Directors has commenced.