Netball Community Celebrates 2012

There was much to celebrate at the 2012 Netball NSW State Dinner on Saturday night at Allphones Arena, in Sydney Olympic Park.

From DOOLEYS State League Waratah Cup winners and National Netball Champions, to the Masters participants, Swifts stars and Diamonds athletes – the netball community and friends from across New South Wales gathered to celebrate and congratulate teams and individuals on their contribution to the success of netball in New South Wales during 2012.

One of the many highlights of the evening was the induction of two netball legends into the Netball NSW Hall of Fame; the first NSW netballer to wear the green and gold, Edna Ross (nee Medcalf), and a NSW and Australian representative from the Golden Boot era of the Open National Championships, Karan Smith (nee Bulloch).

Netball NSW would like to congratulate the following award winners:

Hall of Fame Inductees
Edna Ross*
Karan Smith

Anne Clark Service Awards
Ernita McGrath – Dubbo
Vivienne Bertenshaw – Hawkesbury City
Helen Dean – Manly-Warringah
Marie Caddies – Charlestown
Sue Denman – Port Stephens

Nance Kenny Medal – DOOLEYS State League Player of the Year
Tiffany Lincoln – Hunter United

Marilyn Melhuish NSW Swifts Player of the Year
Susan Pratley

Marj Groves Scholarship
Kaitlyn Bryce – Sutherland Shire

Judy Dunbar Media Awards
Overall Coverage – Josh Bartlett, Bega District News
Best Feature Article– Brad Forrest, St George & Sutherland Shire Leader, Sutherland Blues are the champs
Best Photo – Therese Murray, Hills Shire Times,Pulling Up Their Socks for Charity

Neita Matthews OAM Umpires Encouragement Award
Steven Jackson – City of Sydney / Sydney University

Margaret Corbett DOOLEYS State League Coach of the Year
Maria Lynch – Sutherland Shire

* deceased

Check out this photo gallery from the evening on the Netball NSW Facebook Page

Stay tuned to this week as we place a spotlight on the winners and award recipients from this prestigious evening.