North Coast kicks off Schools Cup

The next generation of NSW netballers will be out on court when Kempsey (Wednesday 13 March), Port Macquarie (Thursday 14 March) and Taree (Friday 15 March) host Netball NSW’s brand new competition for primary-aged students, Schools Cup.


The Netball NSW Schools Cup is a new initiative by Netball NSW to provide New South Wales primary school students in years five and six with the opportunity to enjoy netball in a fun and safe environment.


The North Coast ‘Schools Cup Local Day’ is being held in three different regional towns – Kempsey, Port Macquarie and Taree.  216 players aged 10 to 11 years old representing 15* primary schools will contest across three different days.


Following the first week of competition, Coffs Harbour will host their ‘Local Day’ next Wednesday 20 March, with the top two teams from each competition progressing to the Regional Final on Wednesday 26 June.


Netball NSW’s North Coast regional coordinator Rachelle Brazier is excited about the inaugural Schools Cup.


“This is the first time that Netball NSW has introduced a competition specifically catering for those younger players aged 10 to 11 years old, which will help promote participation in netball throughout regional areas,” Brazier said.


“Hopefully hosting Schools Cup will encourage players to sign up at their local Association so we can continue to grow netball in regional NSW. At the end of the day, it’s all about the kids being active and having fun!”


School teams will compete in round robin carnivals in their local area called ‘Schools Cup Local Days’ from March to August, with overall winners from each ‘Local Day’ progressing to a Schools Cup ‘Regional Final’**.


Victorious teams from these Regional Finals will advance to the Netball NSW Schools Cup State Final, to be held at Anne Clark Centre, Lidcombe on Wednesday 18 September, 2013.

* Participating schools:
Kempsey – Smithtown Public, Telegraph Point Public, Kempsey South Public, Eungai Public.
Port Macquarie – Wauchope Public (two teams), Beechwood Public (two teams), Tacking Point Public, Port Macquarie Public, Hastings Public.
Taree – Forster Public, Harrington Public (two teams), Manning Valley Anglican College, Chatham Public, Wingham Brush Public, St Josephs Taree.
Coffs Harbour – Macksville Public (two teams), Frank Partridge, Dorrigo Public School (two teams), Tyalla Public, Woolgoolaga Public, Bowraville Central, Toormina Public School, Sawtell Public School.