NSW to host Marie Little OAM Shield

While hosting the final round of the 2013 Australian Netball League (ANL) at the Anne Clark Centre later this month, Netball NSW will also be running another competition to coincide with the final day’s play.

The 2013 Marie Little Shield will be held on Sunday 18 August and is a one-day round robin tournament for People With a Disability (PWD).  Teams from Netball South Australia and Netball Victoria will travel to Sydney to compete against our own Netball NSW side, with Jenny O’Keeffe (pictured) at the helm as Head Coach.

Netball NSW is proud to announce Sarah-Jayne Forrest and Melissa Gallagher will lead the 10-player side as Captain and Vice-Captain, respectively, with NSW playing both SA and VIC twice during the day’s play.

Upon the announcement, Forrest said she was honoured to lead the side and excited to play against the other states.

“There is a lot of excitement and nerves from the players, but that should settle once game day arrives,” Forrest said.

“We have been progressing well since our first training session.  There are still a few things to work on ahead of the tournament, however training has been good.”

“On behalf of the NSW PWD team I would like to say thank you to our coaches Jenny and Annie [Collins], Ellen [Monaghan], Kristy [Guthrie] and everyone else who has helped the team for this year … for their support and encouragement.  Now can’t wait til game day!” Forrest said.

NSW Swift Carla Dziwoki will also attend the Marie Little Shield as a special guest to help support from the sidelines and present trophies.

Best of luck to the NSW Marie Little Shield team!

2013 Netball NSW Marie Little Shield Team
Dallas Austin – Blue Mountains
Annelise Baker – Blue Mountains
Danielle Burns – Newcastle
Tara Daniels – Ku-ring-gai
Rebel Ervasti – Blue Mountains
Sarah-Jayne Forrest (c) – Kiama
Melissa Gallagher (vc) – Blue Mountains
Rebecca Harvey – Blue Mountains
Nichole Simpson – Blue Mountains
Uriah Weston – Blue Mountains
Head Coach: Jenny O’Keeffe
Assistant Coach: Annie Collins
Manager: Ellen Monaghan