Premier League players to contest inaugural season

Two weeks ago Netball NSW announced the coaches who had been appointed to take the helm of eight franchises for the inaugural Netball NSW Premier League competition, starting in March 2016.

Since then the eight franchises – GWS Fury, Central Coast Heart, ERNA Hawks, Manly Warringah Sapphires, North Shore United, Panthers, UTS St George Sparks and Sutherland Stingrays – have held selection trials for both their Open and Under 20 sides.

Whilst some franchises are yet to confirm their inaugural playing group, the below have announced the athletes who will represent them for the start of the next chapter of NSW netball history…

Central Coast Heart
The Heart have selected some of the best and brightest netballing talent from the region in their two sides, with six current or former NSW State representatives in their ranks; Tamara Black, Gemma Ferrington, Leanne Grevenitz, Kristen Kessler, Demi Evans and 17-year-old NSW Swift Lauren Moore.

OPEN: Tamara Black, Tiana Cummings, Gemma Ferrington, Leanne Grevenitz, Kristen Kessler, Jacklyn Lahari, Lauren Moore*, Natasha Robards, Lisa Spencer, Madeleine Taylor, Alicia Walsh.
STAFF: Amber Cross (Head Coach), Megan Sharp (Assistant Coach), Jenene Carling (Manager).

U20: Lauren Baxter, Jacinta Clarke, Bronte Doorn, Demi Evans, Abbey Hackman, Tarsha Hawley, Madison Hilton,  Carly Leembruggen, Piper Nowland, Laura Rodger, Claudia Rodwell, Jazmyn Rodwell, Katelyn Stansfield, Hannah Stewart, Madalyn Wild.
STAFF: Nerida Stewart^ (Head Coach), Jessica Morgan (Assistant Coach), Pamela Proctor (Manager).

ERNA Hawks
The Hawks have also named an experienced line-up – from underage Nationals to ANZ Championship – with many athletes graduating from the DOOLEYS State League Waratah Cup team which finished 2015 Runners-Up.
Every member of their Open Team has represented NSW at some stage of their careers, whilst Veronika Jukic is the only State representative in the Under 20s (Riley Quinn was named in the 17/U Development Squad).

OPEN: Kiera Austin, Emily Bills, Alisha Cairns, Jessica Calderara, Taylah Davies, Sophie Halpin, Karli Ireland, Emily Keenan, Jessica Mansell, Georgia Marshall, Jacqueline Rikard-Bell, Amy Sommerville*, Lauren Yager.
STAFF: Joanne MacDermid (Head Coach), Sandy Attard (Assistant Coach), Diana Bills (Manager).

U20: Adrienne Bogard, Ebony Burnard, Veronika Jukic, Sophie Kevern, Chelsea Loughrey, Jordan Marsh, Kate Masters, Isabella Pickup, Riley Quinn, Deni Ross, Keely Ryan, Bethany Thom.
STAFF: Nerida Cracknell^ (Head Coach), Charlene Sommerville^ (Assistant Coach).

Manly Warringah Sapphires
Eight past and present NSW representatives will line up for the Sapphires in 2016, including former Australian Institute of Sport athletes Nicola Gray, Brooke Miller and Keely Rodrigo, as well as a number previously selected in Australian underage squads.
The Sapphires have also added Australian representatives to their coaching ranks after announcing Jill McIntosh (Coaching Mentor), Anne Sargeant (Specialist Shooting Consultant), Mo’onia Gerrard (Specialist Defensive Consultant), Karan Smith (Opens Assistant Coach) and Carissa Tombs (U20 Manager) will join the franchise next season.

OPEN: Lauren Cantwell, Nikki Deegenaars, Nicola Gray, Billie Gurr, Cristy Linaker, Eliza Long, Victoria Low, Georgia Marshall, Brooke Miller, Holllie O’Shannassy, Teigan O’Shannassy, Keely Rodrigo, Mikah Van Gogh.
STAFF: Jen Wright (Head Coach), Karan Smith^ (Assistant Coach), Lisa Eady (Manager).

U20: Isabella Caproni, Lucinda Drinan, Rebecca Fear, Maddie Hartmann, Samantha Horton, Chloe Katoa, Ruby Lemon, Matilda McDonell, Kayla Nakhoul, Eve Parker, Meg Richardson, Kelly Singleton, Latika Tombs, Georgia Westwood.
STAFF: Virginia Welsh (Head Coach), Cathy Chiddy (Assistant Coach), Carissa Tombs (Manager).

North Shore United
In terms of experience, you don’t get much bigger than the trio of English internationals included in United’s Open team; shooting sisters Kadeen and Sasha Corbin, and former ANZ Championship defender Ama Agbeze. They’ll be joined by six athletes with State representative honours, whilst the Under 20s side includes three athletes included in the 2015 NSW 17/U Development squad.

OPEN: Ama Agbeze, Kadeen Corbin, Sasha Corbin, Ash Fong, Nardia Macdonald, Alison Miller, Emily Moore, Courtney Richmond, Phoebe Seamer, Victoria Trist, Madeline Woods, Hayley Wilson.
STAFF: Briony Akle (Head Coach), Colleen Mitchell (Assistant Coach), Jan Troy (Manager).

U20: Abbey Ballesty, Sarah Corfield, Chloe Fryday, Grace Hill, Kaitlin McCaffery, Emily Nesbitt, Grace Pilon, Tara Rigney, Ally Wahby, Georgina Woods.
STAFF: Nardia Macdonald^ (Head Coach), Leonie Stewart-Weeks (Assistant Coach).

Led by experienced coach and former Australian Diamonds player Lisa Beehag, the Panthers have selected a number of local Penrith talent to run-out for the franchise in 2016, including former NSW State representatives.
Their Under 20s side also includes promising athletes Maddison Mann and Abbey McFadden who were members of the 17/U Development squad in 2015.

OPEN: Montanna Geyer, Paige Hadley*, Kodee Heddle, Mallorie Jansen, Alix McDermott, Olivia Memmolo, Vanessa Mullampy, Tiesha Ojeda, Nikki Robson, Nicole Rohr, Sophie Schetor, Amanda Slingsby, Kaisha Wilson.
STAFF: Lisa Beehag (Head Coach), Kay Minchin (Manager).

U20: Chelsea Bolton, Megan Bull, Laura Henderson, Liana Hogarth, Amelia Holtz, Maddison Mann, Abbey McFadden, Renee Mihaere, Tiana Mosca, Claire Shirvington, Rylee Towell, Stephanie Vidaic.
STAFF: Jaqua Heddle (Head Coach), Jean Long (Manager).

^These coaches have been appointed on the condition they reach the appropriate Accreditation level prior to the 2016 Netball NSW Premier League commences.

*2016 NSW Swifts contracted players