Primary Schools in action for inaugural Schools Cup

The next generation of NSW netballers are out on court in 2013 in Netball NSW’s brand new competition for primary-aged students, Schools Cup, which began in Kempsey on Wednesday 13 March.

The Netball NSW Schools Cup is a new initiative by Netball NSW to provide New South Wales primary school students in years five and six with the opportunity to enjoy netball in a fun and safe environment.

More than 700 students aged 10 to 11 years old have already taken part in the Schools Cup with the North Coast, West/Central West, South Coast and Riverina regions having hosted their ‘Local Day’ competitions. 

‘Local Day’ or Phase 1 of the competition, has seen 50 primary schools being represented, with the following teams progressing through to their respective Regional Finals:

North Coast
Port Macquarie
Winner: Tacking Point Public School.
Runner Up: Wauchope Public School

Winner: St Joseph’s Taree.
Runner Up: Manning Valley Anglican College

Winner: Telegraph Point Public School
Runner Up: Eungai Public School

Coffs Harbour: 
Winner: Woolgoolga Public School.
Runner Up: Bowraville Public School

West/Central West
Winner: St John’s Primary School Trangie
Runner Up: St John’s Primary School Cobar

South Coast
Winner: Nowra Christian School
Runner Up: Unanderra Public School

Winner: Bombala Public School
Runner Up: Queanbeyan Public School

Young is hosting their Local Day today, Friday 22 March, where 84 players aged 10 to 11 years old have hit the court representing eight primary schools from around the Riverina region. The next stop for Netball NSW’s Schools Cup is Coonabarabran, with their Local Day being held next Thursday 28 March.