Schools Cup continues in south of State

The 2015 Netball NSW Schools Cup continues this week with South Coast and Riverina holding Local Days at Goulburn and Young to unveil their next crop of Regional Finalists.

Goulburn Local Day gets things started today, Tuesday 28 April, with 22 teams converging on Carr Confoy Park to contest for a spot in the South Coast Regional Finals Day – being held on Thursday 30 July in Queanbeyan.

It will then be Young’s turn to host their Local Day on Thursday 30 April at Young Sports Stadium, with seven teams participating in the round-robin style tournament.

Schools Cup is an initiative by Netball NSW to provide primary and secondary school students from public, independent and Catholic systems in Years Five, Six, Seven and Eight with the opportunity to enjoy netball in a fun and safe environment.

The competition is divided into three divisions; Years 5/6 Mixed, Years 7/8 Girls and Years 7/8 Boys.  School teams compete in round robin carnivals in their local area called “Local Days” from March to August, with overall winners from each Local Day progressing to a Schools Cup “Regional Final”.

Victorious teams from Regional Finals will advance to the Schools Cup State Final, to be held at the new home of Netball NSW on Tuesday 15 September at Netball NSW’s brand new $35 million centre of excellence – Netball Central.

Both South Coast and Riverina regions have already begun their competitions; South Coast has decided Regional Finalists from Local Days held at Shoalhaven and Queanbeyan, and Riverina at Tumut. 

The 2015 Netball NSW Schools Cup is proudly supported by our Official Charity Partner The Kids’ Cancer Project.

 Tuesday 28 April at Carr Confoy Park, Park Rd, Goulburn.
Closing date for registration is Tuesday 31 March.
Eurobodalla: Thursday 21 May at Capt Oldre Park, Elizabeth Dr, Broulee.
Closing date for registration is Thursday 7 May.

Regional Finalists:
Shoalhaven – Year 5/6 Division: Illaroo Road Public School, Shellharbour Anglican College (Shellharbour Stage 3 Yellow); Year 7/8 Girls Division: Kanahooka High School (Kanahooka Pulse), Corpus Christi Catholic High School (Corpus Christi A)
Queanbeyan – Year 5/6 Division: Bombala Public School, Jerrabomberra Primary School; Year 7/8 Girls Division: Karabar

South Coast Regional Finals Day: Thursday 30 July in Queanbeyan.

  Thursday 30 April at Lachlan St, Young.
Wagga Wagga: Thursday 7 May at Cnr Copeland St and Kooringal Rd, Wagga Wagga.
Closing date for registration is Thursday 23 April.
Griffith: Tuesday 19 May at Jubilee Oval, Groongal Ave, Griffith.
Closing date for registration is Tuesday 5 May.

Regional Finalists:
Tumut – Year 5/6 Division: Franklin Public School, Tumut Public School; Year 7/8 Girls Division: Gundagai High School, McAuley Catholic Central School; Year 7/8 Boys Division: Gundagai High School, Tumbarumba High School

Riverina Regional Finals Day: Tuesday 21 July in Wagga Wagga.