Selectors announce NSW ANL Teams

With just five weeks until the national competition begins, Netball NSW is proud to announce the 28 netballers selected to run out for the Netball NSW  Blues and Netball NSW Waratahs during the 2013 Australian Netball League (ANL).

Netball NSW General Manager – High Performance Tracey Fear said she was confident the athletes selected would do their State proud while contesting the 2013 ANL.

“With such a depth of talent in NSW, there was plenty of robust discussion surrounding the selection of the NNSW Blues and NNSW Waratahs, and I have no doubt that the athletes selected will do a fantastic job during the ANL,” Fear said.

“The NNSW Blues are our rising stars and by exposing them to a competition like the ANL, it gives them an invaluable development opportunity against some of the best netball talent from around Australia.”

“Last year, we selected a young team of rising stars and that so many of them have returned to NNSW Blues this year is a credit to the selection of these players in 2012.”

“The NNSW Waratahs are considered some of the best performers from around our State, as seen during the 2013 State League competition; some of these players come with ANZ Championship and Australian Age-Group experience.”

“Netball NSW wishes both NNSW Blues and NNSW Waratahs all the best for this year’s ANL,” Fear concluded.   

NSWIS Head Coach Sue Hawkins returns to the helm of the NNSW Waratahs again this season, and will once again be supported by NSW 21/U Head Coach Maria Lynch as her Assistant.

The NNSW Waratahs have 2012 ANL Runners-Up Emily Keenan, Lauren Mellenbergh, Claudia Russell, Melissa Tallent, Ashlee Weir and 2012 ANL Most Valuable Player Kristy Guthrie returning to the side.

Having enjoyed ANZ Championship court time together in the NSW Swifts, Tallent and Weir are joined by NSW Swifts teammate Samantha May, who last ran out with the NNSW Waratahs in 2011.  Leah Shoard has also been selected after ANZ Championship seasons with the Swifts (2008), Southern Steel (2009) and West Coast Fever (2010), while defender Elly Willan returns to the ANL after seasons with NNSW Blues (2008) and NNSW Waratahs (2010-2011).

Rising young defender Kristiana Manu’a has made the step up from NNSW Blues to join the NNSW Waratahs this season, and after spending time at the Australian Institute of Sport, shooters Alix McDermott and Amy Sommerville bring national experience to the team.

NSW 21/U athlete Taylah Davies and her Sutherland Shire Waratah Cup teammate Nadja Kudrus-Little have been called into the NNSW Waratahs to make their ANL debuts this season.

In season 2013, Moira Gaha will be at the helm of the young NNSW Blues side.  The St George Waratah Cup Head Coach has worked with young NSW talent for many years as Head Coach of the Sydney Netball Academy and brings a wealth of knowledge to the young side. Long-time Manly-Warringah Waratah Cup Head Coach Jenny O’Keeffe will act as Assist Coach of the side.

The NNSW Blues have seven players returning from the 2012 side; Jessica Calderara, Gemma Ferrington, Sophie Halpin and Vanessa Mullampy are back for another season alongside Australian 19/U athletes Madeline Hay and Tanisha Stanton, as well as Australian 17/U shooter Georgia Marshall.

Long-time NSW representative Nicole Styles returns to the NNSW Blues (2008-2010), this time with younger sister Kara also in the side.

Kara Styles is one of six athletes making their ANL debut with the NNSW Blues, along with midcourter Georgia Marshall, shooter Holly Pearce, Australian 17/U player Lauren Yager and 2013 NSW 21/U athletes Stephanie MacGougan and Katie Maguire.

2013 Netball NSW Waratahs
Taylah Davies – Sutherland Shire
Kristy Guthrie –  Manly-Warringah
Emily Keenan – Eastwood Ryde
Nadja Kudrus-Little – Sutherland Shire
Kristiana Manu’a – Liverpool City
Samantha May – Baulkham Hills
Alix McDermott –  Baulkham Hills
Lauren Mellenbergh – Baulkham Hills
Claudia Russell – Manly-Warringah
Leah Shoard – Sutherland Shire
Amy Sommerville – Eastwood Ryde
Melissa Tallent – Sutherland Shire
Ashlee Weir –  Manly-Warringah
Elly Willan – Manly-Warringah
Head Coach: Sue Hawkins
Assistant Coach: Maria Lynch
Team Manager: Donna Harrison
Physiotherapists: Justin Walsh & Daniel Vukovic

2013 Netball NSW Blues
Jessica Calderara – Eastwood Ryde
Gemma Ferrington – Baulkham Hills
Sophie Halpin – Eastwood Ryde
Madeline Hay – Sutherland Shire
Stephanie MacGougan – Eastwood Ryde
Katie Maguire – St George
Georgia Marshall –  Manly-Warringah
Georgia Marshall – Penrith
Vanessa Mullampy – Baulkham Hills
Holly Pearce – Sutherland Shire
Tanisha Stanton  – Eastwood Ryde
Kara Styles – St George
Nicole Styles – St George
Lauren Yager  – Sutherland Shire
Head Coach: Moria Gaha
Assistant Coach: Jenny O’Keefe
Team Manager: Maureen Stephenson
Physiotherapist: Kate Macdermid