West/Central West a history making Regional League Season

West/Central West (Finals Day)

 The Regional League finals were held in Orange on the weekend of 2–4 April, with an outstanding set of performances by teams, coaches, umpires and athletes.

The West/Central West Finals Day was a tough competition – and the teams fought hard for a close finish with the final whistle seeing many draws and close margins.

Along with tough, fierce and passionate performances by all teams, the Orange Netball Association Open continued to build on their unbeaten and unbroken record of 21 straight years of success in the Regional league competition.

The Orange Opens 2016 team was relatively young side with a number 16 & 17 year old players and only three returning players from their 2015 premiership campaign, however this did not hold back the side which retained the Division 1 title.

Head Coach of the Orange Open Side Emily Callaway believes that her side had a great blend of youth and experience.

“As a relatively new coach the girls were really supportive of myself and of each other – which means that we had a great sense of team unity.  Our senior players were great mentors and the younger players were great listeners and together this really helped us to create something special.”

“I was nervous about securing the 21st title for the Association, but we had great faith in the athletes…we have great depth at the Association which is a credit to the junior and senior coaches and it was fantastic to get the win”.

The Division 2 grand final was a nail-biter, with Bathurst pulling ahead in the final minutes of the match to defeat Dubbo 39-35.

Orange Netball Association were also successful in securing the Division 3 title, with a slim three-goal victory against Dubbo, 36-33.

The first half of the Division 4 Grand Final was goal for goal until Blayney pulled away in the back half of the match aided by some sharp shooting from their goalers to win 37-32.


Division 1

Winners – Orange | Runners Up – Nyngan

Division 2

Winners – Bathurst | Runners Up – Dubbo

Division 3

Winners – Orange | Runners Up – Dubbo

Division 4

Winners – Blayney | Runners Up – Condobolin